top of page
Search
  • hannahvalente

Thank God it’s Friday

Today had a little bit of a crazy start as I got on a different train that I normally take and even though it would have gotten me to St Lucy’s eventually I got nervous and got off at the next stop. After back tracking and what would have been a 45 minute commute turned into an hour and a half, I was ready for my first Friday at St Lucy’s. Since I was late I was so bummed to have missed morning assembly but was eager to meet my friday class, the shrimps! The shrimp teacher is so incredibly sweet and kind I instantly felt welcomed and needed in her class. The class consisted of mostly non verbal year 1 and year 2s. I really like this age group. Today after morning circle, we read the creation story, made cards for the Dominican sisters, and did several number activities. The day seemed to really fly by.

I know I’m not supposed to have favorites already but there’s this one kid who’s a year 1 who every time at recess he comes up and talks to me and wants to hang out or play soccer with me. Today he asked me what my plans were this afternoon and weekend and wanted to make sure I would be back next weekend. Talking to him and playing at recess reminds me so much of home as he and my dad share the same name!

After the day was finished at St Lucy’s I headed to Bondi to meet my Uncle John’s cousins for dinner at Bondi Beach after a quick stop at Bondi Mall where I met some awesome girls who live in Bondi. Every Australian I’ve met so far has been so nice to me. As an avid Bondi rescue fan I was so excited to finally see Bondi! Dinner was so incredible at Bondi Fish and they were such great people to talk and hang out with! I’m really glad my Aunt Joan set that up!

28 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Veritas Number 1:

Service is hard. I’ve reflected a lot about why I’m drawn to do service. It was a question my parents asked before I told them I applied every service trip in high school and two years ago the questio

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page