top of page
Search
  • hannahvalente

Happy Doms Day!

The title of my blog is calling “Seeking Veritas In Sydney” and I certainly found it today at the Doms Day celebration at Santa Sabina College . The celebration and liturgy was beautiful and I was able to learn so much about the life of St Dominic, the Dominican tradition, and its incredible connection from an orange tree in Rome to an orange tree in Strathfield, New South Whales. Today I was reminded of the universal church and how interconncted we are not only as Catholics but as a Dominican community. Today was a great day to further think about the purpose of my Smith Fellowship, to learn about and become part of a global Domincan community. Today was a special day in the Randall household as Sally also had a few solos during the liturgy and was amazing! The liturrgy made me fondly think of my own St Francis and Loyola school wide liturgies. Today I learned about the Dominican connection of a orange tree and gold string, symbolic of the interconnectedness of the Dominican tradition. A piece of an orange tree planted by St Dominic in Rome was brought to the Dominican Sisters in Australia and was planted over a hundred years ago. That tree still stands proud in Santa Sabinas’ garden and is a living reminder of the Dominican tradition in NSW. There was a huge billboard today that read: Veritas: prayer study, community, service and I believe that those four words embody the purpose of my Fellowship. After today, I have a better understand and a true definition of the Veritas I am seeking for.


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Veritas Number 1:

Service is hard. I’ve reflected a lot about why I’m drawn to do service. It was a question my parents asked before I told them I applied every service trip in high school and two years ago the questio

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page