top of page
Search
  • hannahvalente

Another first day of school in the books!

Every first day of school comes with jitters, excitement, and nervousness. This morning for me was no exception, I was so nervous on the train ride with Sister Rose Mary not knowing what exactly to expect on this special first day. However as soon as I walked into the front doors of St Lucy’s and was so warmly welcomed by the facilty and staff, I knew there was no room for nerves. After saying so long to Sister Rose Mary, I began my grand tour of St Lucy’s and learned that every day I will be with a new classrooms and teachers. This is such great news for me as this will allow me to get to know more children every week and will allow me to learn from so many incredible teachers. I also found out on my tour that I will be accompanying the children on their trips, I’m so excited for that, I love field trips!


After the tour, I met a few of the students that would be in my class for the day and shortly after meeting the entire class, we set off on my first out of classroom activity, Aldi! The class I am in on Tuesday’s is the “whale class” (all the classes are under the sea themed) (( super cool because my pre school themed was under the sea)) are all Year 7s so they are the oldest of the classes I will be working with. Most of the whale class is non verbal and mostly all the children know sign language something that I do not. The class has been learning some Italian and I was so excited to learn we were going to Aldi to buy an Italian meal: gnocchi, cheese, and spinach! While at the store I was paired with two students, I was surprised but happy I was trusted with the students so quickly.


After the store was recess and at first I did not really know where to stand but I found some soccer and basketballs and kids followed. During recess I played catch and threw frisbees and had such a great time meeting new kids I could not believe how quickly time was flying by.


After dismissal, I faced my first train ride home alone which was beautiful, rode over the Sydney Harbour bridge and saw the Opera House. Looking forward to getting some more sleep tonight and can’t wait for school tomorrow!

40 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Veritas Number 1:

Service is hard. I’ve reflected a lot about why I’m drawn to do service. It was a question my parents asked before I told them I applied every service trip in high school and two years ago the questio

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page